Reducing the impact of recreational activities | WWF Hong Kong

Reducing the impact of recreational activities



Shui Hau 
	© WWF-Hong Kong

Shui Hau and Clam Digging

Shui Hau Wan is a unique area comprising various coastal habitats, including marshes, mangroves intertidal sand and mud flat, boulder shores and rocky shores. Due to its varying habitat features, it supports a relatively high biodiversity with more than 180 species recorded, including the “Living Fossils” horseshoe crab.

Unfortunately, Shui Hau Wan has been facing high levels of disturbance and pressure from human activities such as clam digging. Unregulated clam digging is a serious problem that can lead to juvenile horseshoe crabs being trampled and may change the composition and density of the benthic community structure and the availability of prey. Large Asiatic hard clams here have all but disappeared due to this unsustainable activity. 

 

ECF Sustainable Shui Hau

The ECF Sustainable Shui Hau project, initiated by WWF in 2018 with support from the government’s Environment and Conservation Fund and the Environmental Campaign Committee, aims to preserve the high ecological value of Shui Hau and lower human disturbance from ecotourism and encourage the long-term sustainable use of coastal resources.
 

Citizen Scientist Ecological Surveys

Systematic biodiversity surveys are vital to ensure a deeper understanding of Shui Hau’s coastal ecosystem, and to ensure appropriate conservation measures and actions are undertaken for effective habitat and species management in the future.  Under this project, WWF will train and mobilise volunteer teams to conduct ecological surveys at Shui Hau, with support from team scientists.  
 
Team Scientists Recruitment

We have recruited 30 outgoing and passionate university/tertiary institute students and graduates majoring in life sciences, biology or environmental-related subjects to serve as team Scientists and raise public awareness about the importance of mudflat ecology.
 
Survey Team Recruitment

A series of ecological surveys will be conducted from November 2018 to October 2019. Those from a non-environmental related background can still form survey teams or join as an individual and help us study the area’s biodiversity!
 
Join us now
 

Eco-visits

To raise public awareness of the importance of the Shui Hau mudflats and the impact of clam digging to the environment, free eco-visits will be organised during the weekend from October 2018 to October 2019. By appreciating and understanding Shui Hau’s local ecology, as well as promoting a code of conduct for clam-digging, WWF aims to educate the public about rethinking the relationship between human and nature.
 
Join us now


Self-disciplinary Code of Conduct & Clam gauge

To reduce anthropogenic impact, WWF aims to raise awareness of local clam diversity and ecology.  Under the ECF Sustainable Shui Hau project, we’re launching the first clam conservation management measures in Hong Kong, including a set of Code of Conduct on carrying out responsible clam-digging activities. In addition, WWF has produced clam gauges designed for several clam species. Clam diggers are encouraged to use these gauges to determine small clams that should not be harvested. WWF believes promoting sustainable use of marine resources will help revive the clam community in Shui Hau Wan.

Learn more: Code of Conduct for clam digging activities
Learn more: Clam gauges

 

Shui Hau Wan Field Guide


Shui Hau Walking map (Shui Hau Wan and Shui hau village)


The ECF Sustainable Shui Hau project is sponsored by the Environment and Conservation Fund and the Environmental Campaign Committee.

減低康樂活動的生態影響 | WWF Hong Kong

減低康樂活動的生態影響



Shui Hau 
	© WWF-Hong Kong

水口與掘蜆

水口灣由多種海岸生境組成,包括紅樹林、潮澗帶沙灘及泥灘、大石群及石灘。由於它的多元生境特徵,水口擁有豐富的生物多樣性,孕育超過180種物種,當中包括「活化石」馬蹄蟹。
 
可是水口灣一帶正受休閒活動的干擾,例如掘蜆活動。現時掘蜆活動並沒有任何法律規管,遊人掘蜆時有機會誤踩幼年馬蹄蟹,而且過度掘蜆也會改變泥灘中底棲物種結構、密度和獵物的數量。體型大的文蛤亦因過度挖掘而逐漸消失。
 

環保基金- 發掘水口

本會在得到環境及自然保育基金及環境運動委員會的資助下於2018年開展「環保基金 - 發掘水口」計劃,旨在維持水口的高生態價值,減低休閒活動帶來的人為滋擾,更希望鼓勵以可持續的方法長遠地使用海岸資源。
 

公民科學家生態調查

進行有系統的生物多樣性調查,對深入了解水口海岸生態系統,以及協助未來制定適切保育措施去管理棲息地和物種至關重要。在這個項目下,世界自然基金會連同一班海岸科學家,訓練及帶領義工調查團隊在水口進行生態調查。
 
招募海岸科學家

我們已招募30位在大學 / 大專院校主修生命科學丶生物或環境相關科目的學生及畢業生,成為我們的海岸科學家,一起提高大眾對泥灘保育的關注。
 
召集生態調查義工隊伍

2018年11月至2019年10月期間,我們會在水口進行定期的生態調查。即使沒有任何環境相關學科背景,都歡迎你自組義工隊伍,或以個人身分參加,協助我們研究水口的生物多樣性。
 
立即報名
 

生態導賞活動

為令公眾更認識水口泥灘的重要性以及掘蜆活動的環境影響,本計劃會於2018年10月至2019年10月的周末在水口舉行免費生態導賞活動。透過欣賞及了解水口的生態、在地文化及宣傳「掘蜆守則」,我們希望教育及讓公眾反思人與大自然的關係。
 
立即報名


掘蜆守則及蜆類保育尺

世界自然基金會希望透過提高公眾對本地蜆類多樣性及生態環境的關注,減少人類對環境造成的影響。本會得到環境及自然保育基金及環境運動委員會資助,推出香港首個有關蜆類保育的項目─「環保基金─發掘水口」。項目內容包括制定掘蜆行為守則,及為常見的品種設計蜆類保育尺。我們鼓勵掘蜆人士使用保育尺來量度蜆的大小,避免採集體型過小的蜆隻。透過推動可持續使用海洋資源,我們相信能重現昔日水口灣蜆類群落蓬勃的景況。

了解更多:掘蜆守則
了解更多:蜆類保育尺
 

水口灣圖鑑



水口步行地圖 (水口灣和水口村)


「環保基金- 發掘水口」項目由
環境及自然保育基金及環境運動委員會贊助