Exclusive "Seafood Guide" iPhone App is Now Available – Choosing Sustainable Seafood Has Never Been Easier! | WWF Hong Kong

Exclusive "Seafood Guide" iPhone App is Now Available – Choosing Sustainable Seafood Has Never Been Easier!

Posted
02 November 2011


WWF kicked off its “Seafood Choice Initiative 2011” in early October. In the coming month, WWF is calling on the public to take real actions and has developed the free "Seafood Guide" iPhone App to help individuals in making sustainable seafood choices.

The "Seafood Guide" iPhone App is specifically catered for the Hong Kong public, as it includes more than 60 of the most popular seafood species in Hong Kong; most of them which can be found in local wet markets, supermarkets, frozen food shops and restaurants. In addition to categorizing seafood species according to colours red - “avoid”, yellow - “think twice”, and green - “recommended”; photographs of each species and information on its origin, farmed condition, feed and source are also listed to enable users to gain a better understanding of the species listed.

"This iPhone App is an extension of the pocket-sized WWF’s Seafood Guide we introduced in 2007." Vivian Chung, Marketing Officer, Seafood, WWF-Hong Kong said." With this mobile application, identifying sustainable seafood is now just a few clicks away! The app is in both Chinese and English, which appeals to the local Chinese and international communities in Hong Kong".

The Seafood Guide iPhone App is currently free to download from the iPhone App Store. The Android version of the App will be available in the coming months.

Following the launch of this iPhone App, WWF will also be holding a Sustainable Seafood Tasting Event in SoHo Central on 26 November where the public will have the opportunity to taste sustainable seafood dishes for free. Details will be announced soon.

4 Steps for activating the WWF Seafood Guide iPhone App:
  1. WWF Seafood Guide iPhone App is currently free to download from the iPhone App Store.
  2. Open the app. Seafood species are categorized according to Green “Recommend”, Yellow “Think Twice”, and Red “Avoid”.
  3. Click on the chosen colour/category, the seafood species will be listed according to brush strokes (in Chinese version), or alphabetical order (in English version)
  4. Click on the chosen seafood species, and photographs of each species and information on its origin, farmed condition, feed and source will be displayed.

世界自然基金會推出全港首個《海鮮選擇指引》iPhone App 揀選環保海鮮輕而易舉 | WWF Hong Kong

世界自然基金會推出全港首個《海鮮選擇指引》iPhone App 揀選環保海鮮輕而易舉

發表日期
02 November 2011


世界自然基金會剛於上月初展開「海鮮選擇大行動2011」,而為了呼籲全城響應,WWF現推出全港首個可供免費下載的《海鮮選擇指引》iPhone App,以協助市民揀選環保海鮮。

《海鮮選擇指引》iPhone App專為香港市民而設,圖文並茂展示超過60種香港最常見和最受歡迎的海鮮,當中大部分可以在海鮮攤檔、超級市場、凍肉店及酒樓食府找到。《海鮮選擇指引》將海鮮分為三大類:紅色(避免食用)、黃色(食用前想清楚),以及綠色(建議食用)。 iPhone App除展示每種海鮮的照片,亦提供品種來源地、養殖環境、飼料及魚苗來源等資料,方便 iPhone 用戶隨時查閱,加深對品種的認識。

世界自然基金會香港分會市場推廣主任(環保海鮮)鍾欣燃說:「本會繼2007年推出《海鮮選擇指引》迷你小冊子後,今年全新推出《海鮮選擇指引》iPhone App。憑著這個既易用又免費的iPhone App,用戶只須點擊數下,便可即時辨別環保海鮮!這個 iPhone App備有中英文版,適合本地及外籍人士使用。」

世界自然基金會的《海鮮選擇指引》iPhone App 現可在 iPhone App Store 免費下載。Android 版將於未來數月內推出。

承接《海鮮選擇指引》iPhone App的推出,世界自然基金會將於11月26日 (星期六)在中環Soho區舉辦「環保海鮮試食活動」,到場市民將有機會免費品嚐環保海鮮美食。活動詳情容後公布。

世界自然基金會《海鮮選擇指引》iPhone App使用四步曲:

  1. 世界自然基金會《海鮮選擇指引》現可於iPhone App Store免費下載。
  2. 開啟app,便可看到三大類別:綠色(建議食用)、黃色(食用前想清楚),以及紅色(避免食用)。
  3. 點擊選擇的顏色/類別,海鮮品種便會按照筆畫(中文版)或字母(英文版)順序排列。
  4. 點擊某個海鮮品種,便會詳盡顯示其照片、來源地、養殖環境、飼料及魚苗來源。