Giant Panda | WWF Hong Kong

Giant Panda



Background

 
	© WWF-Hong Kong
Gaint Panda - Background
© WWF-Hong Kong
While the Panda is one of the world’s most iconic species, known and loved across the world, this peaceful, bamboo-eating member of the bear family faces a number of threats to its survival. Its forest habitat is fragmented and populations are small and isolated from each other, and poaching remains an ever-present threat.

The giant panda (Ailuropoda melanoleuca) was once widespread throughout southern and eastern China, as well as neighbouring Myanmar (Burma) and northern Vietnam. Today, pandas mainly live in bamboo forests high in the mountains of western China, with most of the wild population distributed between the Qinling and Minshan Mountains.

By mid-2005, the Chinese government had established over 50 panda reserves, protecting more than 10,400 km² and over 45% of remaining giant panda habitat. However, habitat destruction continues to pose a threat to the many pandas living outside these areas.

Currently, only around 66.8% of the population, or about 1246 pandas, are under protection in reserves. As China's economy continues its rapid development, it is more important than ever to ensure the giant panda's continued survival. While progress is being made, numbers remain low. The IUCN’s Red List classifies the panda as Endangered, and threats to its survival remain.

Symbolic adoption

 
	© WWF - Hong Kong
The funds raised will be used to support all of WWF-Hong Kong's conservation efforts.
Adopt an animal now!

Threats & Action

WWF has been active in giant panda conservation since 1980. More recently, WWF has been helping the government of China to undertake its National Conservation Programme for the giant panda and its habitat. As a result, reserves for this species cover more than 16,000 km² of forest in and around their habitat. A 2014 survey revealed that an estimated 1,864 individuals remain in the wild.

WWF has been working closely with the Chinese government in the Qinling and Minshan Mountains, and the projects implemented in these areas have achieved great success. Panda habitat is increasing with the development of new reserves and green corridors.

Some threats to panda survival such as poaching and illegal logging have been significantly reduced. Community development projects to help people sustainably coexist with pandas have been very positive.

The work of the Sichuan, Gansu and Shaanxi provincial governments to ensure the survival of the giant panda gives rise to hope that the panda will not be lost and will continue to exist in the wild for many generations to come.

Since the catastrophic earthquake in Sichuan, China in 2008, WWF has focused emergency relief and reconstruction work mainly on the giant panda habitats and the neighboring communities. This is because the 300-km seismic zone near the epicentre is a priority area for global biodiversity conservation, a water supply conservation area and an important ecological protective barrier at Chengdu Plain and upper reaches of the Yangtze River. It could be called the aorta of the "green heart" of China.
Over the next five years, WWF will support pilot vegetation restoration projects, the development of nature reserves' contingency plans, the restoration of monitoring and patrolling facilities, and the development of sustainable livelihoods for the local communities around the panda habitats.

To support WWF’s conservation work to reduce threats to species such as habitat loss and preserve our ecosystem, you may now get your symbolic animal adoption as a meaningful and unique gift for friends and families.

大熊貓 | WWF Hong Kong


For DRTV homepage banner panda 
	© Fritz Pölking / WWF

大熊貓

背景

大熊貓是世上最具代表性和可愛的動物,天性善良,愛吃竹葉,屬熊科動物,現正面對生存威脅,如棲息地受破壞、散居、非法捕殺也是長久的問題。

大熊貓 (Ailuropoda melanoleuca) 曾經廣泛分佈於華南、華東、緬甸及北越等地。現時,大熊貓主要在中國西部的高山棲居,野生種群分佈於秦嶺和岷山。

直至2005年中,中國政府已經建立了超過50個熊貓自然保護區,保護超過10,400平方公里及逾45%大熊貓棲息地。不過,棲息地遭受破壞,對棲居在保護區以外的大熊貓構成長期威脅。

現時,只有66.7%的大熊貓(約1246隻),在保護區內受到保護。中國經濟迅速發展,確保大熊貓的生存機會更見重要。雖然保育工作一直進行,但大熊貓數字持續偏低。《世界自然保護聯盟紅色名錄》已把大熊貓列為瀕危物種,正面對生存威脅。 

「助養」野生動物!

 
	© WWF - Hong Kong
熊貓禮品店的全數收入,主要用作支持本港的保育及教育項目。
瀏覽熊貓禮品店!

威脅及行動

世界自然基金會自1980年起已大力保育大熊貓。近年,本會協助中國政府推行國家保育項目,保育大熊貓及其棲息地。大熊貓保護區面積超過16,000平方公里。2014年的調查顯示,估計現時有約1,864隻野生熊貓。

世界自然基金會一直與中國秦嶺及岷山政府緊密合作,在此區進行的項目取得可觀成績。隨著發展新的自然保護區及綠色走廊帶,大熊貓棲息地的數目正在增加。

非法捕殺和非法砍伐的問題大為改善,為了令人類和大熊貓和諧共存而推出的社區發展計劃,彰效顯著。

四川、江蘇和山西省政府的大熊貓保育工作,確保大熊貓不會絕種,並繁殖出更多下一代。

2008年發生四川地震後,世界自然基金會著力為大熊貓棲息地和鄰近地區進行災後重建。由於震央附近共300公里的地震帶為全球生物多樣性的重點保育區、水源保育區及成都平源和揚子江上游的生態保護屏障,可以說是中國的心藏「綠色命脈」。
未來五年,世界自然基金會將發展種植試驗計劃,發展自然保護區應變措施、恢復巡護監測設施,及為當地鄰近熊貓棲身地的社區發展可持續原則的生計。

支持世界自然基金會的保育工作,減少對物種及其棲息地的威脅,保育健全的生態系統。你可「助養」動物,為朋友及家人送上有意義又獨特的禮物。