Tiger | WWF Hong Kong

Tiger



 rel=
Indian Tigers
© Martin Harvey / WWF

Background

The largest of all cats, the tiger (Panthera tigris spp.) is one of the world’s most admired and charismatic species – but it is also one of the most threatened. Tiger is an umbrella species in the landscape conservation and plays a very important role in maintaining a healthy ecosystem. Only about 3,200 remain in the wild, most in isolated pockets spread across increasingly fragmented forests stretching from India to South-eastern China and from the Russian Far East to Sumatra, Indonesia.

The wild tiger population is at a tipping point and experiencing a range collapse globally, occupying 40% less habitat than was estimated just one decade ago, and now limited to just 7% of their historic range.

The unprecedented threats of habitat fragmentation, degradation and loss, poaching, and illegal trade in tiger parts call for an unprecedented response at a global action. Now tigers are ranging in 13 tiger conservation landscape (TCLs) over 11 tiger ranged countries.

Symbolic adoption

 
	© WWF - Hong Kong
The funds raised will be used to support all of WWF-Hong Kong's conservation efforts.
Adopt an animal now!

Threats & Action

Tigers are facing a global epidemic of habitat loss, poaching and illegal trade, fuelled by absence of political resolve by range states to adequately tackle these threats.

Tiger numbers have dropped dramatically across their entire range in Asia, and China is no exception. Historically there were likely more than 1000 Siberian tigers in Northeast China, the numbers had already dropped to approximately 150 in northeast China. More current surveys indicate there are no more than 20 Siberian tigers remaining in the region. There may be as few as 1,300 tigers left in India, comparing to around 3,700 tigers in 2001.

With successful lobbying experiences to India on tiger conservation, WWF has developed new transformative strategies for a Tiger Network Initiative to commit the sustained efforts and resources needed to effect change on a local-to-global scale and push for increased and sustained commitment by range state governments to tackle the above issues. Actions will be bolstered by regional scale illegal trade issues through positively engaging the global drivers of tiger habitat destruction.

Following the Kathmandu Global Tiger Workshop 2009, WWF's goal is to double the number of tigers in the wild by 2022, the next Year of the Tiger.

To support WWF's conservation work to reduce threats to species such as habitat loss and preserve our ecosystem, you may now get your symbolic animal adoption as a meaningful and unique gift for friends and families.

老虎 | WWF Hong Kong


Panthera tigris altaica L., Amur tiger in the rehabilitation center of the wild animals ... 
	© Vladimir Filonov / WWF

老虎

背景

老虎 (Panthera tigris spp.) 是貓科動物當中體型最大的,亦是世上最迷人的動物,但同時是現今最瀕危的物種之一。老虎是地貌保育的庇蔭物種,在維持健康的生態系統中扮演重要角色。現時,野生老虎僅剩3,200隻,散佈於印度至中國東南部,以及由遠東俄羅斯至蘇門達臘的森林。

野生老虎已經瀕臨絕種,全球野生種群數目面臨崩潰,現在老虎的棲息地,比10年前少佔40%,老虎數目亦僅佔歷史分佈區的7%。

老虎正面臨前所未有的威脅:生境地喪失及零散不全、捕獵、非法貿易老虎身體部分,老虎保育絕對需要全球正視並作出行動。現時,老虎散佈於11個國家,總共13個老虎保護區中。 

「助養」野生動物!

 
	© WWF - Hong Kong
熊貓禮品店的全數收入,主要用作支持本港的保育及教育項目。
瀏覽熊貓禮品店!

威脅及行動

老虎面對各方面威脅,如生境地喪失、捕獵及非法野生生物貿易,亦欠缺保護老虎的政策。

老虎在亞洲分佈區的數目大幅下降,包括中國。最初,中國東北部有近1,000隻西伯利亞老虎,現時的數目已驟減至150隻。近年調查顯示,在中國東北部只剩下不多於20隻西伯利亞虎。印度大概僅剩1,300隻,相比於2001年的3,700隻,跌幅可謂相當大。

憑著成功游說印度政府保育老虎的經驗,世界自然基金會發展出靈活的Tiger Network Initiative (Tiger NI),持續為老虎保育作出行動,以本地至全球的規模,持續推動洲政府推行老虎保育。非法野生生物貿易令保育行動升級,向破壞老虎生境地之人作出呼籲。

2010年是虎年,世界自然基金會的目標是,參照2009年尼泊爾加德滿都國際老虎工作坊的建議,於2022年,即下一次虎年,把全球老虎的數目增加一倍。

支持世界自然基金會的保育工作,減少對物種及其棲息地的威脅,保育健全的生態系統。你可「助養」動物,為朋友及家人送上有意義又獨特的禮物。