Sharks | WWF Hong Kong


 
	© Brian J. Skerry / National Geographic Stock / WWF

Sharks

Background

Sharks vary greatly in size and habit. Whale sharks are the largest of all fish and can grow up to 12 m long and weigh up to 12,000 kg. The smallest sharks are the tiny pygmy sharks, which are fully grown at 20cm in length.

Sharks are efficient predators, with a highly developed sense of smell, hearing and sight. They can scent their prey in the water from great distances, and their sensitive eyes can see clearly even in the dim light of the deep ocean.

Sharks are carnivorous and eat invertebrates and fish, including other sharks. Large species may eat seals, turtles and penguins. Sharks are the top predators in many marine ecosystems, although some sharks, like the whale shark and the basking shark feed on plankton.

To date, scientists have identified more than 1,000 shark and related species. More than 400 species are shark.  Only a few of these species have records that they attacked on humans. Yet sharks continue to hold a negative reputation as a danger to people.
 
	© WWF-Hong Kong
Shark
© WWF-Hong Kong

Threats & Action

Tens of millions of sharks are killed each year by humans. Many are killed deliberately for their fins, which are made into shark's fin soup. Shark meat is popular in many parts of the world, and many sharks also die in fishing nets set for other fish. Sharks tend to be long-lived and relatively slow to reproduce, making them particularly vulnerable to overfishing. Effective catch limits are few and far between, and the unsustainable fishing of sharks poses a threat to the survival of many shark species, some of which are now endangered.

WWF is among several conservation organizations leading the fight to save the world's sharks. It takes a multi-pronged approach, from advocating for effective shark management to be adopted in regional fishery agreements for the high-seas, to fishing gears that reduce the bycatch of sharks in specific fisheries, to education and consumer campaigns.

Hong Kong is one of the largest consumers of shark fin worldwide, and plays a key role in driving overfishing for sharks across the world’s oceans. The current and future levels of demand for shark fins are likely to be far higher than can be met from sustainably managed fisheries.  WWF-Hong Kong is calling on individual consumers, corporations and restaurants to not consume or sell shark fins. 

If you want to know more about our campaign in Hong Kong, please visit here for more details. 
 
	© Joost van Uffelen / WWF
Shark
© Joost van Uffelen / WWF

鯊魚 | WWF Hong Kong


 
	© Brian J. Skerry / National Geographic Stock / WWF

鯊魚

背景

不同種類的鯊魚,其體積和棲息地大有不同。鯨鯊是魚類中體積最大的,可長達12米,重達12,000公斤。最小的鯊魚侏儒鯊,成年後體長只得20厘米。

鯊魚天生擅於捕獵,其嗅覺、聽覺和視覺非常敏銳,牠們能在遠處嗅到獵物,即使在漆黑的深海仍能看得清楚。

鯊魚是食肉動物,進食無脊椎物及魚,包括鯊魚。大型品種進食海豹、海龜及企鵝。鯊魚在許多海洋生態系統中,都是頂級捕獵者。部分鯊魚如鯨鯊和姥鯊都吃浮游生物。

至今,被科學家確認的鯊魚及其相關品種已超過1000種,單就鯊魚而言就已經超過400種,當中只有很少品種曾經有襲擊人類的紀錄。雖然如此,鯊魚仍然被人類視作危險勿近的動物。
 
	© WWF-Hong Kong
鯊魚
© WWF-Hong Kong

威脅及行動

人類為取鯊魚鰭製成魚翅,每年獵殺數以千萬計的鯊魚。鯊魚肉在全球廣受歡迎。事實上,很多鯊魚死於意外捕獵。鯊魚是長壽的動物,繁殖緩慢,容易受到漁業壓力。有效管制措施少之又少,不符合可持續方式的捕魚方法,對鯊魚構成嚴重威脅,部分鯊魚已經成為瀕危類別。

世界自然基金會為首批正視鯊魚保育問題的機構,採取多方面措施,提倡有效鯊魚管理,同意在區域公海進行有效的漁業管理。我們亦提議對捕魚工具作出管理,減少意外捕撈,另外我們致力推廣教育和消費者活動。

香港是全球魚翅最大的消費者之一,對於全球過度捕殺鯊魚實在責無旁貸。以生態系統的角度來說,現時可持續發展的鯊魚漁業的增長速度將無法滿足全球需要受保育鯊魚的急切需要。我們需要以其他行動去保育鯊魚。世界自然基金會香港分會呼籲個人消費者、公司及餐廳,停止食用或供應魚翅。

如欲了解更多有關本會在香港的鯊魚保育工作,請到以下連結瀏覽。
 
	© Joost van Uffelen / WWF
鯊魚
© Joost van Uffelen / WWF